Why Indie?

The next topic in our YA carnival discussion is ‘Why Indie?’ I think there are advantages and disadvantages to both traditional and indie publishing. I have not decided whether I will aim for one or other exclusively. It is most likely that I will aim to publish some traditional and some indie. Contrary to the two-party system in the US, or the ‘conservative vs. liberal’ camps springing up everywhere, I have no desire to segment my writing life off into one camp or another. I love writing and so I am enjoying exploring both venues and seeing what each has to offer.

What I will say that I enjoy about indie so far is that it caters to the instant gratification gene in me. I edit intensely, and have other folks edit, and that takes a while, as it should. But when I’m ready to go, Kindle has made it so simple to format things that I can get my material up and out in a very short period of time. I can set my own price. And I also have been bitten by the design bug after having explored Picnik as a photo-editing website. I am having a good time designing covers in my own limited way. I’m no Picasso, but I get a certain satisfaction staring at a pretty cover that looks professional and saying, “Wow, I did that! And it’s not a stick figure.”

I do also enjoy that there are no borders in indie. I think it may have this in common with smaller independent publishers compared to large publishing houses. In both indie and smaller house publishing there does not seem to be as much restriction based on what the marketing department forecasts, though the market is going to play a role in any publishing. So far, I am mostly self-publishing my short stories with a few exceptions, and aiming for small independent publisher for the novels.

9 Responses to “Why Indie?”

  1. It’s so true, Rachel–why box ourselves in? There are fantastic small publishers and midlist as well who are eager for new talent. All the while, publishing on your own speeds the process from four or so books a year to as many as you can produce. And as a business woman (this is a business, ya’ll) I can tell you if you don’t keep creating new content, you’ll lose readers. So the combo of publishing styles compliments us. LOVE that.

    • Yeah, the digital world has opened up all kind of possibilities for writers. It’s a profoundly different world for writers now, with maybe a more technical array of skills needed to navigate it too.

  2. Very cool! I love the control aspect, too. It’s freeing.

  3. I feel the same way, actually. Once I took control and knew that it was up to me to market my books [regardless of how I’m published] I made my trailer, and believe it or not, it’s now become part of my writing process. I think visually and so making the trailers for my novels helps me get to the heart of them in ways queries, or synopsis, or you-name-it ever did. Great post Rachel. Can’t wait to read your books:)

    • Thanks! Im really glad to have met everyone taking the same track and exploring the same things. Sorry I wont be able to visit much this weekend. Im without access except my smartphone. But ill see if I can hit a couple other sites before my coverage poops out.

  4. I think it’s important to keep our options open and pursue the path best fitting our needs at the time. If we close ourselves off to alternatives, we will be no better off than the traditional publishers who have closed themselves off to eBooks. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I haven’t heard of that photo editing software before. Must check it out! 🙂

  6. You’re keeping your options open. Smart lady!
    🙂
    Amy

Leave a Reply

