Why Paranormal?

Many of the writers in this discussion group seem to veer toward the strange if not frankly paranormal. I can’t speak for the others, but I think that growing up as psychically dead as a corpse, I always wanted to see and feel the magic that I heard about in stories, and touch the divine. When I speak of divinity, understand that I’m not speaking of God, or at least not only God as different religions define He/She/It. I’m speaking of ‘illo tempore’ or ‘time out of time’, ‘space out of space’ elaborated by Mircae Eliade. He was one of the cultural anthropologists who theorized humanity’s need to create sacred space, or recreate an origin point. When the term ‘sacred’ was used, it was not always used in the sense of something inviolate or holy and certainly not untouchable. Instead sacred was defined as an opposite to profane, something that brought us back from our everyday lives into our most basic state, similar to Jung’s archetypal existence and collective subconscious. In this state, boundaries between worlds and between each other dissolve, and we can touch the center of the universe, the creative force to which we are all linked. As Michael Ventura wrote, this is said by some to be the real meaning of the Vodun cross. While a Catholic-influenced religion, Vodun has older roots. And before the Romans used a cross shape as an instrument of torture, it was a symbol used to signify a crossroad, a place where the world of man meets the world of the divine, defined as anything from that primordial space that we see in our dreams.

Unfortunately, I don’t see ghosts, ghouls, hear whispers in the night, feel the energy of crystals or know a person’s past by touching something they touched. I don’t even know if anyone is listening when I pray. And I’ve done plenty of carousing or ‘sinning’, on the preschooler premise that negative attention might be more interesting than none. Not a peep. Deep in my heart, I believe in atom and molecule, in equation and quantum mechanics, even though my math is barely more sophisticated than high school algebra. But I don’t believe that physics and ‘paranormal’ are mutually exclusive. I believe that what we designate as ‘paranormal’ may very well exist even though I can’t feel it and we can’t explain it by the math yet. I can’t feel x-rays either. But they exist, and can be explained. So where does that leave me and my writing? In limbo. I write ‘paranormal’ to fulfill wishes and excise nightmares, to see what I believe is out there somewhere and connect it to the world that I know.

Here is a list of our current YA Carnies:

Dani Snell  http://www.refractedlightreviews.com

Patti Larsen  http://pattilarsen.blogspot.com/

Courtney Cole  http://courtneycolewrites.wordpress.com/

Wren Emerson  http://wrenemerson.wordpress.com/

Nicole Williams  http://nicoleawilliams.blogspot.com/

Fisher Amelie  http://fisheramelie.com/blog/

Michelle Leighton  http://mleightonbooks.blogspot.com/

Laura Elliot  http://laurasmagicday.livejournal.com/

Amy Maurer Jones,  http://amyjonesyaff.blogspot.com

T. R. Graves  http://thewarriorseries.blogspot.com/

Tiffany King, Allie Burke  http://allieburke.blogspot.com/

Cyndi Tefft  http://ctefft.blogspot.com

Come join the Carnival!

9 Responses to “Why Paranormal?”

  1. Hi Rachel,

    Wow, you really gave me something to think about… and I thought I was clever for recreating the spirit world in my Soul Quest Trilogy, LOL!

    I have always been a lover of science and also believe there is more to life than what we see, feel, taste, hear…. It has been said that we only use 10 % of our brains, so what are we doing with the other 90% (besides writing YA paranormal fiction, lol!)?

    Life is truly a fantastic mystery and I fear if we ever finished learning all of its secrets we would just get bored.

    I enjoyed your post and look forward to your next!

    • 🙂 My formal education is in cultural and medical anthropology. Your trilogy sounds very cool. I will try to visit your site today and download your books. I love reading other people’s take on spirit worlds.

  2. I believe that one of the best ways to help the universe progress is to create. My degree in Biochemistry studied how even the mistakes in genetic progression often times are the genius of a new generation.
    Thanks for the post.

    • Genetic relativism, the true meaning of natural selection and evolution. Biochemistry is cool. I wish I had taken more of it. I think that’s why I love some science fiction, it really reveals the magic in science.

  3. There is more in heaven and earth that can be explained by our philosophies…’tis true. And how exciting! “boundaries between worlds and between each other dissolve” I really like that phrase. Because in very powerful paranormal/fantasy the two are so intertwined. The strange/unique world tends to highlight our basic connectedness–our basic humanity–even if we are reading about aliens or dragons or ….

    • Yup. I’ve noticed that, as have many Trekkies, that a lot of what is termed ‘space opera’ is really an exploration of different facets of humanity in the aliens. The most awesome episode of Trek that revealed this was the “Darmok and Jelad at Tenagra” one, where they compared their situation to the story of Gilgamesh. Those people should have won Academy Awards or something for that episode.

  4. My hubby and I were on a long drive not too long ago and to pass the time, we were talking about what kind of story I could come up with using the premise of microwaves, radiowaves, etc (things that you can’t feel, but do exist). Maybe there are other waves or rays that we haven’t stumbled across yet that will reveal new planes, new worlds, new ideas. Maybe not, but it sounded like a good story idea to me! 🙂

  5. Rachel I’m an intuitive and read Tarot–and I can honestly say there is nothing supernatural about it–it’s all energy exchange and quantum physics-how everyone is connected to each other no matter how near or far. That being said, craving the paranormal is craving the dream… and that’s a fantastic place to be.

  6. Your definition of sacred ‘opposite to profane, something that brought us back from our everyday lives into our most basic state’ is exactly the reason I fell in love with paranormal. I’m enjoying the trip through each site and learning more and more about each person participating. This is a wonderful experience.

Leave a Reply

