Indie Authors to Look At

In the sparse time I’ve had to read lately, I can say that Laura Elliot’s Winnemucca was an intriguing read. It was a passionate little book that explored the traditional female role and coming-of-age in a very poetic and consuming way. It didn’t pander to wish-fulfillment or the Disney need for purity and complete happy endings. It portrayed the young protagonist in a very real and relatable way. And so when you start watching indie authors, you should watch Laura Elliot.

I was also intrigued by T.R Graves’ Warrior Series. Having a husband recently in medical residency spoke to me on this one. Her opening is powerful and gripping, and the stories encompass the desperation people feel in the face of our last real predator: illness, and our need to have a secret weapon against it, if not conquer it. It appears to be a story of wish fulfillment, but not in an adolescent longing for love kind of way. Instead it is a more mature version, engendering hope and the desire to become something more than we are, and serve our species in the ultimate way. No small dreams to be found there. When T.R. Graves does something, she goes big.

Other books I have not yet started, but am slavering to begin are Between by Cyndi Tefft, and Solstice by P.J. Hoover. They are both sweeping novels, which I love. Solstice takes place in a world reminiscent of Octavia Butler’s dystopia, mixed with Neil Gaiman’s world of myth. Irresistible to me. As most readers know, I am a huge sucker for mythic stories. And as a lover of myth, Between captures the tale of one of the most enigmatic figures in history, not often told from that figure’s point of view, the Grim Reaper. This promises to be an awesome read.

In addition, I have added to my list, M. Leighton’s book For Love of a Vampire. As noted by my previous post, I am also a sucker for vampire lit. And this right away captured me with its tongue-in-cheek humor, as the story takes place in a town called Harker! Totally awesome. It reads, so far, with a compelling romanticism that is both appropriate for young adults, yet not maudlin or prissy, as many vampire novels can be.

Perception by Heather Cashman is wildly interesting and original with her tackling of a combination of totemism and human-animal eugenics in a future I intend to visit.

Alicia McCalla has also captured my attention with Resurrected Obsidian, a West African tale of good and evil from a very unique perspective concocted in a powerful imagination from stories not so well-known in the European-dominated world of fairy tale. I look forward not only to devouring this book but to her new upcoming sci-fi novel Breaking Free.

The Soul Quest trilogy by Amy Jones, not the anime-based online game, also looks like a powerful new-world myth focusing on a teenager’s struggle with nothing less than her part in the entire world animus!

Every Last Kiss by Courtney Cole portrays an intriguing character woven through the threads of history close to one of the most awe-inspiring female symbols of power ever, Cleopatra. Using the legendary figure’s hand-maiden, I think we will get an interesting glimpse into both theoretical history, and the relatable story of real people caught up in the sweep of massive world events, with a fantasy twist.

Eternal Eden by Nicole Williams has piqued my interest as the young girl catapults into a world of immortals and danger from a world of the mundane.

I Wish by Wren Emerson promises to be a great read as a tweaked catastrophic look at what might happen when a young woman could create anything she thought about. Be careful what you wish for…

The Understorey by Fisher Amelie leaps right out of the gate with breathtaking visual imagery from the point of view of a young supernatural couple, and complicated story threads.

Finally, Cat City by Patti Larsen is going on the list. I don’t care if it is ‘middle-grade’ fiction and I am almost 40. I want to read a story about a city of enchanted cats battling enchanted rats. It’s what I would have drooled over reading when I was a kid too, but she hadn’t written it yet. Maybe I was an ancient Egyptian in a past life.

All I can say is, it’s a good thing my husband got me an e-reader. Because I feel like a kid in a candy store, especially since this YA Indie Carnival has made me aware for so many talented authors out there with the kind of novels I like to read.

Visit them here, microwave up the popcorn, and get ready to be late to work and sleep-deprived after you look up at four in the morning and realize you disappeared into their books the entire night:

http://www.refractedlightreviews.com Danny Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews
http://pattilarsen.blogspot.com Patti Larsen, Author of The Ghost Boy of MacKenzie House, and The Diamond City Trilogy.
http://courtneycolewrites.wordpress.com Courtney Cole, Author of Every Last Kiss, Fated, Princess, and Guardian. Also a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://wrenemerson.wordpress.com Wren Emerson, Author of I Wish and a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://laurasmagicday.wordpress.com Laura Elliott, Author of Winnemucca.
http://nicoleawilliams.blogspot.com Nichole A. Williams, Author of Eternal Eden, and the upcoming Fallen Eden. She is also participating in the Glassheart Chronicles.
http://fisheramelie.com/blog/ Fisher Amelie, Author of The Understorey, as well as a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://amyjonesyaff.blogspot.com Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy as well as a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://thewarriorseries.blogspot.com T. R. Graves, Author of Warriors of the Cross.
http://ctefft.blogspot.com Cyndi Tefft, Author of Between
http://pjhoover.blogspot.com P.J. Hoover, Author of Solstice, The Emerald Tablet, The Navel of the World, The Necropolis.
http://www.aliciamccalla.com Alicia McCalla, Author of the upcoming science-fiction novel Breaking Free.
http://heathercashman.com/better_off_read Heather Cashman, Author of Perception.
8 Responses to “Indie Authors to Look At”

  1. Crap. I’m here from P.J.’s blog, but there’s no way for me to follow yours. Ever considered adding Google Friend Connect?

    • What’s Google Friend Connect? Is it like Google +, someone just sent me something on that but I haven’t looked at it yet. You can follow this blog if you want by subscribing to it. I think that is the follow mechanism. It’s not like a magazine subscription where it costs something, you just hit the subscribe button and it links you in. But I just checked the page and realized that my Subscribe button has disappeared. So I’ll figure out what’s wrong. Thanks for the heads up! And I’ll check out Google Friends Connect. In the meantime, you can find me on Twitter: rcoles66, and I’ll be on Google+ sometime today

  2. Ok, subscription button is up.

  3. Thank you for the book love! I’m all about mythology, too, and love putting it in my writing. Hope your weekend is awesome!

  4. Oh! Yay! I’ve read some of our carnie’s books, but certainly not all of them. Thanks for summarizing some of them here and reminding me that I really need to read them 🙂 So many books….and all that….lol

  5. I’m completely humbled by your summary of Warriors of the Cross. Thank you for including it in your wonderful blog. In fact, I love the way you – graciously – found a way to acknowledge everyone. The Indie spirit is alive and well with you, and I’m confident your kindness will be paid forward.

  6. So awesome! I’m bookmarking this so I can come back… I need them all!

Leave a Reply

