Book Giveaway, and 5 Questions for Author T.R.Graves

Our posts this week each feature another indie writer listed in the carnival. In this interview, they answer five questions we came up with to get a sense of who they are and what inspires them in their writing. On my blog today is T.R. Graves, author of the Warriors of the Cross series.

1. Did you have a particular inspiration for Allison La Crosse?

My daughter’s name is Allison. She has strawberry blonde hair, blue eyes, and lightly-freckled, porcelain skin. She wants to be a doctor. She has an aunt with the same coloring and is almost six feet tall. They are two of the most beautiful people -inside and out – I know. By combining their characteristics, I made the perfect heroine for the story.

2. What made you focus on Allison’s absorption of her patient’s symptoms? That is a real theme in shamanism. Was that theory an influence?

I did not intentionally base The Warrior’s powers on shamanism. After doing some quick research, I now see that Allison’s powers are eerily similar. I will have to do some investigation and see if there are other abilities that I could add to the story.

Actually, I’ve always been interested in situations where people are sympathetic to other people’s pain/symptoms. I’m especially fascinated when their sympathy is so powerful that it causes them to take on those symptoms themselves. In the book, I used the example of men who take on their pregnant wives’ prenatal symptoms even though nothing is truly wrong with them. As a mother, I always take on my kid’s symptoms. If I know they are nauseated, I begin to feel nauseous. In fact, there have been situations where my husband/kids were injured, and I was literally unable to take care of them because I thought I might pass out. My side-effects are not caused by fear of blood. Hello, I was an ICU nurse. Instead, it is because I have an instant concern for them that overwhelms and weakens me.

The power of Allison’s sympathy and compassion are similar. The love of others (even spirits) is transferred so powerfully to and through her that she immediately becomes willing to sacrifice her own life in order to save the dying person.

3. On what did you base Satan’s Sect?

I don’t want to be too dark, but I’ve spent years working in ICU, taking care of sick people, supporting their family members, and reviewing medical records. Because I’ve seen almost every horrible thing that can happen to someone, I have been forced to acknowledge that evil is more than a myth. Much to my dismay, Satan’s Sect’s malevolence is based on real-life tragedies…those you hear about every day on the news.

Fortunately, the naming of Satan’s Sect is a less morbid story. After I wrote Warriors of the Cross, my family and I had a fun family meeting. Everyone created a list of names they envisioned for the book, the groups, and the characters. My husband is the one who named Satan’s Sect, Warriors of the Cross, The Guardians, and The Disciples. My daughter voted for her name as the main character which meant my son, Trevor, expected a character to be named after him. In the end, everyone was happy with the results.

4. What was it like to create a series, something that spans a large portion of your main character’s life?

I fell in love with the characters of The Warrior Series and realized I would never be able to confine the story to one book…or even two. My challenge now is to make sure the series ends before it becomes boring and redundant. Since I think of great new storylines every day, I don’t believe I’m anywhere near that point. When writing becomes a challenge, I will retire Allison La Cross and move on.

5. Why did you choose the Galveston/Louisiana area?

I was born and raised in Louisiana. My upbringing in the mill-town of Bastrop, Louisiana embedded small-town values, morals, ethics that have shaped who I am and what I do.

I love…love…love Galveston. After working on the island for more than ten years, I know a lot about the city and its residents. Something about the tropical atmosphere just feels like home. In fact, I adore Galveston so much that my family rents a beach house there every summer (even though we only live 30 minutes away)!

T.R. Graves’ books can be found on the following links:

Warriors of the Cross is available on Amazon, B&N, and Smashwords.

Guardians of the Cross will be released December 2011.

Enemies of the Cross will be released late summer of 2012.

You can connect with T.R Graves (Fan, Friend, Follow, ‘LIKE’) on these links:

Facebook Fan Page

Goodreads

TRGraves Blog

Twitter

Shelfari

Now for the giveaway details!

TODAY’S GIVEAWAY [for people over 13, internationally]: Winners announced Sept. 16 at the next YA Indie Carnival. Just comment and include your email address (so we can gift your book) on any Q & A post ALL DAY TODAY and tweet the carnival [#yaindiecarnival] to win ebooks from the carnival authors. Here is the list of books you can win!:

Kindle copy of The Understorey by Fisher Amelie

Kindle digitally-signed edition of Winnemucca by Laura A. H. Elliott and a Winnemucca signed Coffee Mug.

Kindle copy of Breathe by Abbi Glines along with an autographed canvas Breathe tote.

Kindle copy of Solstice by PJ Hoover

Kindle copy of Between by Cyndi Tefft

Kindle copy of PineLight by Jillian Peery

Kindle copy of Filter by Gwenn Wright.

Kindle copy of Eternal Eden by Nicole Williams

Kindle copy of Fallen Eden by Nicole Williams

Kindle copy of Soul Quest by Amy Maurer Jones

Kindle copy of Run and Hide by Patti Larsen (YA thrillers, 1 and 2 in a series of 4)

Kindle copy of Fractured by Cheri Schmidt

Kindle copy of Warriors of the Cross by T.R. Graves

Kindle copy of Into The Ruins by Rachel Coles

This list of books can be found at http://www.goodreads.com/event/show/129738-ya-indie-carnival-q-a-giveaway

So now that you’ve seen what you can win, go check out T.R. Graves and her compelling new series Warriors of the Cross! And here are some other authors and reviewers worth exploring today!

http://www.refractedlightreviews.com Danny Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews

http://pattilarsen.blogspot.com Patti Larsen, Author of The Ghost Boy of MacKenzie House, the Hunted series, and the Hayle Coven novels.
http://courtneycolewrites.wordpress.com Courtney Cole, Author of Every Last Kiss, Fated, Princess, and Guardian. Also a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://wrenemerson.wordpress.com Wren Emerson, Author of I Wish and a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://laurasmagicday.wordpress.com Laura Elliott, Author of Winnemucca.
http://nicoleawilliams.blogspot.com Nichole A. Williams, Author of Eternal Eden, and the upcoming Fallen Eden. She is also participating in the Glassheart Chronicles.
http://fisheramelie.com/blog/ Fisher Amelie, Author of The Understorey, as well as a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://amyjonesyaff.blogspot.com Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy as well as a contributing author in The Glassheart Chronicles.
http://thewarriorseries.blogspot.com T. R. Graves, Author of Warriors of the Cross.
http://ctefft.blogspot.com Cyndi Tefft, Author of Between
http://pjhoover.blogspot.com P.J. Hoover, Author of Solstice, The Emerald Tablet, The Navel of the World, The Necropolis.
http://www.aliciamccalla.com Alicia McCalla, Author of the upcoming science-fiction novel Breaking Free.
http://heathercashman.com/better_off_read Heather Cashman, Author of Perception.
http://www.abbiglines.com Abbi Glines, Author of Breathe, and the upcoming Existence and Vincent Boys.
http://cidneyswanson.blogspot.com/ Cidney Swanson, Author of Rippler.
4 Responses to “Book Giveaway, and 5 Questions for Author T.R.Graves”

  1. Hopping through this interview! I love that the heroine is based off your daughter & her aunt! That’s so awesome for both of them, and I hope they totally love that honor 🙂

    Jess @ The Midnight Bookworm
    midnightbookworm@live.com
    @BookwormLove

  2. TIna, I love to read books that are set in places that aren’t widely represented in fiction [NY, LA, big cities] I’m very excited to read your series and get lost in Louisiana and Galveston. I love the idea of you sitting down at your family meeting to discuss book titles. How fun! I’m going to have to put my family to work:)

  3. I love that you write about shamanism in your books! I think that subject is fascinating, and I am really excited to read your books!!

  4. Rachel,
    Thank you so much for having me on your blog and all your support.

    Laura,
    You are always so generous.

Leave a Reply

