Featured Author and Book Giveaway!

Recently, I mentioned that I was going to do an interview with an up and coming talented sci-fi writer, Jeff Kirvin! He’s written and writing what promises to be a riveting apocalyptic series, beginning with Revelation. For those of us who love end-of-the world stories, and like seeing all of the things biblical mythology can lead to, this is a great book to dive into! I asked Jeff a series of questions because I was curious about the inspiration for Revelation and writing in general. Without further ado, here’s Jeff, ‘God of Biscuits’!

1.  How did you come up with the concept for Revelation?

Jeff: It originally came from trying to write a far flung space opera. I
wasn’t getting anywhere with that, so inspired by recently reading
Christopher Golden’s Shadow Saga (still my favorite spin on vampires),
I decided to write a horror novel about a dark conspiracy of
immortals. Me being who I am, it turned into a technothriller anyway.

2. Who is your favorite character in Revelation, and why?

Jeff: I love them all, but I think I had the most fun with Dante and Jeff Frankel.

3. Which one was the hardest to write and why?

Jeff: Susan was definitely the hardest to write, because her background and
beliefs are about 180 degrees from my own. Making her a convincing
Christian conservative AND a compelling character AND sympathetic AND
not a stereotype… was hard.

4. If you could pick an event or memory that inspired you to start writing, what would it be?

Jeff: My mom not only read to me constantly as a very young (preschool)
child, but she also explained to me how and why the stories worked. At
the same time, my dad, an engineer, introduced me to the joys of
tinkering (which I still do with my myriad gadgets). Between the two,
it was only natural that I would start tinkering with story structure
and figuring out how to make stories of my own. By the time I was in
second grade, teachers used to pull me out of class and put me in
front of the fifth and sixth grade classrooms where I would stand in
front of these older kids I didn’t know and ad-lib fairy tales
complete with morals. Kids would follow me home begging, “tell me a
story…” Eventually, I started writing them down, and never really
stopped.

5. Who would you say are your biggest influences in writing?

Jeff: Isaac Asimov, Stephen King, Michael Crichton, James Rollins.

6. I’m stealing this question from a Journal Jabber interview because it was cool: Vampires or Werewolves?
Jeff: Were-honey-badgers, because they don’t give a $#!+
I looked up honey badgers, and found an amazing video on You Tube. Hilarious, in case anyone was wondering what a honey badger was. I didn’t know before this video.
And for those of you who want to comment on either Revelation, Jeff Kirvin’s other publications, writing, or the honey badger, the first three win a free copy of Revelation! Make sure I can contact you to send you your free book! Happy Reading!
3 Responses to “Featured Author and Book Giveaway!”

  1. Were-Honey-Badger I think just beat Zombie Bambi out as creepiest monster.

    • I would love to see Zombie Bambi though. That’s a new one for me. Or Zombie Barbie. I’d like a t-shirt with Zombie Barbie, then Barbie would be acceptable.

  2. I have not read his stuff before but I am a sucker for author interviews….perhaps since I am a librarian?

Leave a Reply

