YA Indie Carnival: On Twittering Methods?

YA Indie CarnivalHi fellow indies,

Today’s topic for the YA Indie Carnival is on the silliest-sounding and almost the favorite pastime of many many people: Twitter. I am not proficient at Twitter, in any way. But even I have to admit the usefulness of short blips of information that can be viewed by whomever you want, little data squirts that take very little time, energy, or bandwidth. Twitter is ultimately the best way of forcing verbose people to be succinct and select what information to share. And due to the size limitations, matched only by texting, it may also be responsible for destroying the grammar of the human race.

So there are a few opinions out there among Twitter wizards about what the key things are to twittering successfully: simplicity, getting lots of followers.

Like Facebook, it seems as though some people measure their success at twittering by how many followers they have. And logic would dictate that the more people with a line on your feed would lead to broader exposure, and the greater likelihood that your sage words will be seen and quoted. I can’t argue with that. However, I don’t know that more followers correlates with actual exposure. I follow a lot of people, but they don’t all show up on my feed. Like Facebook, which followers I see seems to be determined by a magic algorithm that will only reveal itself if I chant a heavy metal record backwards, and sacrifice a goat at the full moon. And that’s if I get on Twitter more than once every two weeks. There may be lots of followers but how many of them are watching their feed at all? That’s just something to consider when you mentally tally your exposure.

As for keeping it simple, I think that should be the rule with everything, literally everything. I don’t want to have to need a master’s degree in engineering to read the directions for putting together a wooden cabinet from IKEA. When I review grants for work, I don’t want to have to wade through miles of paper on the details of this or that person’s resume who will be working on the grant project. One thing we always tell people who are applying for grant money is ‘Answer the questions that are being asked.’ And that requires keeping it simple. As for Twitter, I think there is no choice but to keep it simple if you want to be understood. Twitter is the ultimate tool, in today’s mile-a-minute lifestyles, for people who don’t want to devote more attention span than a few seconds at a time. That being said, I don’t always have even that much attention span, to send or receive tweets. I love the meme that was going around Facebook a while back that said, ‘Oh, you cooked a three course meal and made the napkins into swans. I took a shower and kept the kids alive…probably.’ I use I use Twitter when I can, because it is very helpful sometimes for making good connections and finding services. But I’m not consistent.

If anyone has any other comments or tweeting tips, please share!

And see what our other tweeting indies have to say:

1. Laura A. H. Elliott 2. T. R. Graves, Author of The Warrior Series
3. Suzy Turner, author of The Raven Saga 4. Rachel Coles, author of Into The Ruins, geek mom blog
5. Gwenn Wright, author of Filter 6. Liz Long | Just another writer on the loose.
7. Ella James 8. Maureen Murrish
9. YA Sci Fi Author’s Ramblings 10. A Little Bit of R&R
11. Melissa Pearl 12. Terah Edun – YA Fantasy
13. Author Cindy C Bennett

Tune in next week for another author spotlight, and check out the YA Author Club!

One Response to “YA Indie Carnival: On Twittering Methods?”

  1. I’ve noticed two things that help get your tweets shared. 1. Consistancy. Because twitter is such a constant barrage of information the only way to get noticed consistently is to tweet. 2. Try to make some real connections with other users. I’ve ‘made friends’ with some other bloggers. Now they help me spread my messages and I help them spread theirs. I learned to effictively use twiiter with a free course from alexisgrant.com. She takes the confusion out of Twitter and turns it into a strong tool.

Leave a Reply

